Snuff Mill on eastern side of Bronx River. The mill was constructed in the 1840s and ceased operation as a snuff mill in 1870 when the Lorillard's moved their operations to New Jersey.
To the left is Hemlock Forest, a remnant of the forest that...
Account record of the Sloop Hare's cargo for Saml. [Samuel] and Wm. [William] Vernon [of Newport, Rhode Island] lost during passage to Africa, including barrels of beer, snuff, and bees wax, and slaves.
Cover features photographs of St. Nicholas of Tolentine Church, Van Cortlandt Mansion, Yankee Stadium, a leopard at the Bronx Zoo, and the Snuff Mill. Also included are brief descriptions. In-- Bronxboro, Vol. XXIX, No. 2, pp. cover, 1.